New Year Reflections

tumblr_mfwmcdeZV31qig4rjo1_500.png

 

Oh, so it’s reflection time? Ok then! I suppose it really is important to look back over a period of time and reflect as it encourages us to move forward, view our mistakes with the objectiveness of distance and decide upon our goals for the year to come.

 

2015 was a good year for me. After so many shitty years, after all the obstacles I have had to overcome, all I have learned about myself…I needed 2015. 2015 was a reminder that life gets better.

 

After years of shit…and I mean shit. Those close to me know to some extent the hurdles I have faced. After reaching my breaking point a few years ago, after being diagnosed with PTSD (severe depression, anxiety and stress)…after so, so, so many shitty years, there came 2015.

 

2015 was the year of the sheep, according to Chinese mythology. This meant it was my year. Maybe karma had finally turned around, maybe it was because I wore red every day for the beginning of the Chinese New Year, maybe it was simply getting my feet under me again…but 2015 was a good year.

 

My love of travel, of exploring culture and what the world has to offer has been reignited. Whilst I doubt 2016 holds much in the way of travel, I look forward to the next opportunities that present themselves. I find myself more actively seeking out these opportunities and, with my photography from my last trip attracting some travel bloggers and official location’s social media attentions, I feel this is something I must explore further with my writing and, perhaps, create a hobby from. I never expected to enjoy cruising, but the experience was nothing short of exceptional. I know both Mark and I hope to travel this way again.

 

I still feel my life has little direction. I don’t know where I want to be career wise in the next five years, but I’ve had the same job for almost two years now…and after the past few years that is an amazing accomplishment. I had just one group certificate come tax time last year, the year before that, I had six. Whilst I enjoy my current workplace, I do not see myself staying there for another year. There is little place for advancement and growth, two elements I know I require from my career. My workplace has been a perfect ‘resting place’, a place to learn some new skills, hone others, and gain some experience and contacts. I have greatly appreciated this workplace. It is amazing the difference a little appreciation can make to a person’s self-esteem and self-worth.

 

2015 was the year Mark and I signed the paperwork for a loan and to build a house. After seven years of renting, having to take an agent to court, of being treated like second class citizens, of our lives being invaded by the rules of unreasonable agents, of experiencing the dichotomy that is our demanded, increasing payments, yet receiving nothing in return, not houses properly maintained, not the privacy we are entitled to…finally, we will be free from the trap that is renting. Our house will be completed in 2016 and our plans for truly settling, for creating a home all of our own will come to fruition. Despite the criticism of many in regards to the size of our property and the price we paid, my partner and I are very happy with our decisions and we are already beginning to see that our investment will pay off. Each week, as the community around how little pile of bricks changes, we feel more confident that our first home is the beginning of an investment portfolio.

 

Study wise, I am still plodding along. Unfortunately I did not graduate this year as I had expected I would, but the miscalculation of my units has led to other areas of study that can only open more doors. I have learned that I do have a talent for writing, for transferring knowledge and doing so in a way that others find engaging. I do not know how I will utilise this as I do fall into the category of ‘inspired’ writer. I require inspiration to put pen to paper and this inspiration is not always easy to come by. I had started a minor in marketing. It was challenging, to say the least, and not something I found interesting at all. Murdoch University is due to add community development courses to their curriculum in 2016. I feel these units will interest me more and still aid my career development. I will continue with marketing as well though. I am not one to back down from a challenge. Perhaps 2016 is the year I will graduate. Then…perhaps…a post-graduate and Masters will be in view.

 

2015 also marked the sixth year of my relationship with Mark. I feel this year has been one of our best. As a couple, we continue to grow and develop. I suppose this is where I am supposed to gush and type some romantic nonsense, but I think our photos together, our interactions, the land title in both of our names and the existence of a relationship old enough to attend school speaks for itself.

 

Midway through 2015 I aimed to slow down. I am the kind of person that takes on too much and doesn’t reach out for help. I have been aiming to delegate more often, to say no to taking on more. Whilst I have not achieved this to the goal I had hoped, I have slowed down a little. This is something I must keep an eye on in 2016. I must not fall back into old habits and wear myself thin. I must remember that I am important and that I need to take care of myself in order to take care of and help others.

 

Fearless Inc became an Australian recognised charity in 2015. I am the President of an official, government recognised charity. I believe the greatest challenge of 2016 will be growing this project. All I have accomplished so far was simply winging it. I hope to gather a team to aid me to take my message of body positivity to a wider audience. I must do this without losing myself as well. It will be an interesting experience to say the least.

 

Of course, the year that passed also included a great deal of charity work. I have loved dressing as a Queen, Princesses and superheroes to spread joy to the community. My Facebook page has also surpassed 10,000 followers. This both excites and terrifies me. I hope that I am able to use my reach for a little good and continue to spread messages of positivity and change within the community.

 

Yes, 2015 was a good year. I needed this year. 2016 promises to be just as exciting and filled with possibilities. From me to you, dear reader, I wish you a Happy New Year and a 2016 filled with boundless possibilities.

 

Leave a Reply

